Birds, reflections, evening – Any tips?

This is ‘the one that got away’ – the photo, that is.

Galahs drinking on the Yass River, Joe O'Connor Park, Yass, New South Wales, Australia

Galahs’ ‘Happy hour

A late afternoon coffee, sitting down on the bank of Yass River at Joe O’Connor Park. Just magic!

While we were talking possible kayak launch spots and where you’d cast the fishing line, a flock of pink and grey galahs wheeled shrieking over the bend in the river.

The galahs come up from the river gorge at this time of evening to roost (somewhere?) for the night. We know, they usually fly over our house. You can’t miss them, they’re very noisy. It’s a wonderful spectacle.

So it seemed they’d followed us into town!

They careened over the hill to the park and settled in the old trees on the bank. They found the submerged tree, a good perch with easy access to the water for drinking.

But low light and a fast, flittering, squabbling flock of galahs was beyond my L-plate photography skills. (It was mesmerizing in real life though!)

I can’t wait to get back to the river again. Maybe I can try out the video function to capture them? If only I can herd the galahs back onto that fallen tree!

*

So do you have any tips for a better photo?

Technical details: Camera Model Name Fuji FinePix S2980  

Shooting Date/Time 2/01/2014 5:53:35 PM
Tv (Shutter Speed) 1/140
Av (Aperture Value) 5.6
Exposure Compensation 0
ISO Speed 200
Flash Off

I used the tripod and full zoom was on (18x /504mm on my camera). I noticed from the lot of photos I took that the better light and colour came up in the ISO 200 shots but the flapping wings are blurry. I wanted a larger depth of field so I kept the aperture wider.

To compensate for the low and fading light I increased the shutter speed but it went black. Now I realise from reading this excellent online book:

Secrets of Digital Bird Photography: Tools and Techniques by Bill Majoros

that I went too far and I didn’t counterbalance the increased shutter speed by lowering the ISO.

Is that right?

Apart from a better camera ;-), do you have any tips for how the shot would be improved? Would love to hear your thoughts!  ♦

‘One Shot Wonders’ series

2 comments on “Birds, reflections, evening – Any tips?

  1. pilbra says:

    meet you by the park great shot

How are you travelling? Say g'day!

